The 2014 Lewis Blackman Patient Safety Champion Award Recipients

Learn about this year's recipients - Kendall, Floyd, Salgado, PASOS Promotores of the Midlands, and Hobbs.

As a part of the South Carolina Hospital Association's (SCHA) continued effort in having hospitals across the state transform the care that each patient receives and experiences while partnering with others, five were recognized for improving patient safety for all South Carolinians during the Seventh Annual South Carolina Transforming Health Symposium.

Recognized as the 2014 Lewis Black Patient Safety Champions were: Brian Kendall, MD, medical director, hospitalist services, the Regional Medical Center of Orangeburg and Calhoun Counties; Bambi Floyd, MSN-FNP, CNO, Chief Nursing Officer, Williamsburg Regional Hospital; Cassandra Salgado, MD, MS, associate professor of medicine, Medical University of South Carolina; PASOS Promotores of the Midlands, a community based organization hosted at the University of South Carolina's Arnold School of Public Health; and Amanda Jane Hobbs, industrial engineering student, Clemson University.

Sponsored by SCHA, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina, Health Sciences South Carolina, Mothers Against Medical Errors (MAME), and PHT Services, Ltd., the Lewis Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards are named in honor of Lewis Wardlaw Blackman, a Columbia boy whose life was cut short in 2000 as the result of potentially preventable medical complications after an elective surgical procedure. This year's winners were recognized at a luncheon during the Seventh Annual Transforming Health Symposium.

Dr. Kendall was awarded the Caregiver Award, which is given to a doctor, nurse, pharmacist or other hospital employee whose efforts have resulted in changes that promote patient safety and quality improvement at the bedside. 

Bambi Floyd is the winner of the Healthcare Executive Award, given to a hospital executive or manager whose vision, guidance, and support have played a critical role in better, safer hospitals. This was demonstrated during Williamsburg Regional Hospital’s (WRH) enrollment of the Healthy Outcomes Plan, a state program developed to provide medical homes to uninsured patients who frequently utilize hospital emergency rooms. Her leadership and ingenuity in this area of work resulted in their recognition as the first hospital in the state to reach its target population of enrollees by the initial deadline.

PASOS Promotores of the Midlands, a community based organization hosted at the University of South Carolina's Arnold School of Public Health is the winner of the Advocacy Award given to honor an individual or group outside of health care that has actively promoted improving quality and patient safety in South Carolina. PASOs Promotores of the Midlands has worked to build bridges between the Latino community and health care providers since 2010, with an ultimate goal of healthier, stronger South Carolina families. PASOs team members offer culturally competent support and advocacy, encouraging the people they serve to share their experiences, needs and concerns and helping them to navigate the social services and health care systems.

Dr. Salgado, was awarded the innovations and research award, which is given to those involved in quality improvement and patient safety research or the development of new technologies to improve patient outcomes. She is an infectious disease physician, professor of medicine, and hospital epidemiologist that has dedicated her career to reducing the risk of hospital-acquired infections. Her research focuses on reducing bacteria levels in patient care areas via advanced technology and techniques.

Amanda Hobbs, an industrial engineering student at Clemson University was awarded the Student Award. Her interest in health care improvement was formed during her childhood, when a congenital abnormality was initially misdiagnosed by several physicians. As a college freshman, she joined the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Open School Clemson chapter where she began to explore the health care quality and patient safety movement.