South Carolina Hospital Association Honors 2008 Legislators of the Year

HILTON HEAD, SC, September 18, 2008 -- The South Carolina Hospital Association (SCHA) and the South Carolina Medical Association (SCMA) have named Senators John C. Land III (D- Manning) and Thomas C. Alexander (R-Oconee) and Representatives Harry Ott, Jr. (D-Orangeburg) and Rex Rice (R-Greenville) as its 2008 "Legislators of the Year" in light of their legislative accomplishments on behalf of health care during the 117th South Carolina General Assembly this year.


"The people of South Carolina are fortunate to have such hard-working and dedicated advocates for health care," said SCHA board chairman John Miller. "Our 2008 Legislators of the Year worked tirelessly to increase the cigarette tax and to reduce the use of tobacco in South Carolina. They also consistently supported the maintenance and expansion of the State Children's Health Insurance Program as well as ways to make health coverage more affordable for the working poor and their families.

The awards will be presented at 10:15 a.m., September 19 during the 28th annual Trustees Administrator Physicians (TAP) Conference, which is co-sponsored by the SCHA and SCMA at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa.

About the South Carolina Hospital Association

Founded in 1921, the South Carolina Hospital Association is the leadership organization and principal advocate for the state's hospitals and health care systems. Based in Columbia, SCHA works with its members to improve access, quality and cost-effectiveness of health care for all South Carolinians. The state's hospitals and health care systems employ more than 70,000 persons statewide


09-22-2008 12:00 (EDT)