SCHA Names 'Distinguished Hospital Trustees of the Year'

2012 Winners: Terry Cash of Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System and Bernard Warshaw of Colleton Medical Center

HILTON HEAD ISLAND, S.C.- The South Carolina Hospital Association (SCHA) recently presented its highest honor in hospital trustee leadership to two individuals who have volunteered their time and knowledge to improve health care in their communities. Terry Cash of Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System and Bernard Warshaw of Colleton Medical Center were named SCHA's 2012 Distinguished Hospital Trustees of the Year during the annual Trustee Administrator and Physician (TAP) Conference.

Cash has served on the board of Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System since 2001, including multiple terms as the board's chairman. During his tenure on the board, Spartanburg Regional has undergone an exceptional time of growth and improvement. Under his leadership, the system has constructed a new acute-care hospital and begun to provide cancer care services in areas previously lacking access to a full complement of oncology treatment options.

Bernard Warshaw, a trustee of Colleton Medical Center since 1998, currently serves as the hospital board's chairman. Cited for his long-standing leadership and commitment to the good health of the community, Warshaw has worked tirelessly with the hospital's legislative delegation and other officials at the state level to win funding for the Veteran's Victory House and to establish Lowcountry Transitions, a 20-bed inpatient mental health/crisis stabilization at Colleton Medical Center.

The Distinguished Trustee Award is presented annually at the association’s annual TAP Conference. The recipients exemplify service to their hospitals, patients and community and demonstrate leadership and service at the state level on behalf of hospitals and health care. Nominations for this award are presented to a committee of hospital executives and trustees from across the state. The committee recommends recipients after careful review of each nomination.