SC Senate Adopts Increased Cigarette Tax

SC Senate Adopts Increased Cigarette Tax

After more than seven hours of deliberations, the SC Senate adopted a 50 cent cigarette tax increase with a vote of 26-17. The debate began around 12:30 pm, March 30 with Senator Thomas Alexander (D-Oconee) at the podium.

As adopted, the bill provides for the following:

  • 50 cent cigarette tax increase
  • $5 million Hollings Cancer Institute for cancer research
  • $5 million Smoking Prevention and Cessation Trust Fund
  • $3.5 million I-95 Corridor Authority (which is established in the bill)
  • One penny SC Department of Agriculture for marketing and branding of SC grown crops or assistance in relief from natural disasters affecting state-grown crops (approximately $2.5 million) remaining revenue for the South Carolina Medicaid Reserve Fund ($139 million, which would generate an additional $324 million in federal match)

Please call the following Senators and thank them for their support:

Thomas C. Alexander (R - Oconee); Paul G. Campbell, Jr. (R - Berkeley);Creighton B. Coleman (D- Fairfield);Ronnie W. Cromer (R - Newberry); Dick Elliott (D - Horry); Robert Ford (D - Charleston);Robert W. Hayes, Jr. (R - York); C. Bradley Hutto (D – Orangeburg); Darrell Jackson (D - Richland); John C. Land III (D - Clarendon); Hugh K. Leatherman, Sr. (R - Florence); Phil P. Leventis (D - Sumter); Joel Lourie (D - Richland); Gerald Malloy (D - Darlington); Larry A. Martin (R - Pickens); John W. Matthews, Jr. (D - Orangeburg); J. Yancey McGill (D - Williamsburg); Floyd Nicholson (D - Greenwood); William H. O'Dell (R - Abbeville); Clementa C. Pinckney (D - Jasper); Luke A. Rankin (R - Horry); Glenn G. Reese (D - Spartanburg); John L. Scott, Jr. (D - Richland); Nikki G. Setzler (D - Lexington);Vincent A. Sheheen (D - Kershaw); and Kent M. Williams (D - Marion).

04-01-2010 12:00 (EDT)