Celebrating Patient Safety Champions

 Nominations for the 11th Annual Lewis W. Blackman Awards are due by Feb. 15

The Lewis W. Blackman Awards celebrate the individual achievements of patient safety champions in South Carolina and establish a benchmark of excellence in health care quality and patient safety for our state. The awards are named in honor of Lewis Wardlaw Blackman, a bright, gifted 15-year-old who died following an elective surgical procedure in 2000 due to complications that stemmed from a medical error. Helen Haskell, Lewis’s mother, has provided inspiration for these awards through her tireless and meaningful work to promote patient safety and quality improvement across this state and nation.

We are now looking for nominations to honor those individuals who have advanced patient safety and health care quality in South Carolina! There are five separate categories in which individuals may be nominated: 

The Caregiver Award: Direct caregivers or frontline staff whose passion for patient safety and quality improvement has resulted in the successful implementation of unit or system-wide changes that facilitate safer care at the bedside

The Healthcare Executive Award: Healthcare executives or leaders who are not direct caregivers but whose vision, guidance and support have played a critical role in patient safety and quality improvement

The Patient Advocate Award: Advocates who are not involved in direct patient care who have actively demonstrated exemplary dedication to patient safety and quality improvement

The Innovations and Research Award: Innovators or researchers involved in quality and patient safety research or the development of new technologies to improve patient outcomes

The Student Award: A $500 scholarship and plaque will be awarded to a student who demonstrates notable leadership, commitment and/or innovation in the areas of patient safety and quality improvement

To complete a nomination, just fill out a short form with a brief narrative about the nominee and any additional documentation at http://tinyurl.com/LewisBlackmanAwards2018

These awards were formed in collaboration with the Transforming Health Symposium; Health Sciences South Carolina (HSSC); The Risk Authority Stanford Global Service Center (TRA Stanford); the South Carolina Hospital Association (SCHA); and Mothers Against Medical Error (MAME). 

Award winners will be recognized during the April 10, 2018 Transforming Health Symposium awards luncheon at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center.

Please contact Hardy Childers at hchilders@scha.org or 803.454.6967 with any questions or comments regarding the Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards Program. 

More information about the award can be found here.

Submit your nomination now!

Deadline: February 15, 2018