2016 Lewis Blackman Awards

Congratulations to our 2016 winners!

2016 Lewis Blackman Award WinnersEvery year South Carolina’s hospital community joins together at the Transforming Health Symposium to share best practices and learn about the ways individuals and organizations are working collaboratively to transform health and health care. One of the major highlights of the event is the presentation of the Lewis Blackman Awards to honor champions of patient safety who go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure quality care.

The awards are named in honor of Lewis Wardlaw Blackman, a bright, gifted 15-year-old who died following an elective surgical procedure in 2000 due to complications related to a medical error. Helen Haskell, Lewis’s mother, has provided inspiration for the awards through her tireless and meaningful work to promote patient safety and quality improvement not only in South Carolina but throughout the country.

Award winners were recognized at a special luncheon April 7 during the Transforming Health Symposium at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. We are proud to present the 2016 Lewis Blackman Award winners:

Dr. Rami Zebian is the Director of Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine at Carolinas Hospital System in Florence where he oversaw a sepsis collaborative focused on implementing treatment guidelines that led to a dramatic decrease in sepsis mortality and established the facility as a mentor to other health systems.

Brian Greig is an RN that also serves Carolinas Hospital System in Florence as the Director of Critical Care Services where he has implemented daily safety huddles and led efforts to improve care for sepsis patients and reduce other hospital acquired infections.

Tom Dandridge has served as the CEO of Regional Medical Center (RMC) in Orangeburg for more than 20 years and continues to innovate new ways to ensure patient safety and process improvement. He’s overseen RMC’s commitment to SC Safe Care and continues to lead the way for a safer environment for patients and staff.

David Marx is the founder of Outcome Engenuity, which helps hospitals create systems for improving processes and human reliability. He is also recognized for his leadership in “Just Culture,” a model to improve the way health care providers approach system safety and staff accountability.

Danielle Scheurer, MD, MSCR is the Chief Quality Officer (CQO) and an adult Hospitalist at the Medical University of South Carolina. As CQO, she works to improve all aspects of Quality and Safety for the clinical enterprise. 

Mary “Ali” Hobbs is a graduate research assistant at Clemson University who has provided research on how the strategic placement of hand sanitizers can improve the hand hygiene of visitors in hospitals. She has demonstrated leadership in improving complex systems and her research has been featured in the American Journal of Infection Control. 

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Lewis Blackman Awards. We are honored to celebrate these leaders in improving the quality and safety of health care in South Carolina and beyond.