2011 Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards

The Story of the Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards

The Lewis Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards were created in 2008 to recognize individuals who demonstrated exemplary dedication and leadership in advancing the quality and safety of health care for patients across South Carolina. The awards are named in honor of Lewis Blackman, a bright, talented 15-year-old who died in 2000 after an elective surgical procedure due to preventable medical complications. His mother, Helen Haskell, has provided inspiration for this award with her dedication to promoting patient safety and quality improvement across the state and the nation. It is the symposium sponsors' desire to use these awards as a way to celebrate the achievements of individual patient safety champions in South Carolina, establish a benchmark of excellence in health care quality and patient safety and inspire others to great deeds on behalf of patients and their families. Join us in congratulating our 2011 winners, who have championed the cause of patient safety at all levels of the South Carolina health care system through leadership, innovation, execution and tireless advocacy.

2011 Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion Award Recipients

Caregiver Award

Eric Powers, MD, Chairman, South Carolina Mission: Lifeline & All South Carolina Mission: Lifeline Caregivers

Over the past three years, one of the most dynamic and successful quality improvement efforts in South Carolina and across our nation has been the South Carolina Mission: Lifeline (SC M:L) program. This program has brought together health professionals from across our state to create regional systems of care for heart attack patients. Due to the collaborative work of caregivers from EMS dispatchers, to paramedics, to ED nurses and doctors, to Cath Lab staff and cardiologists, the average time from hospital arrival to interventional treatment for patients with the most severe STEMI heart attacks has been reduced by over 30 minutes statewide (to an average door to balloon time of 62 minutes). Leading this remarkable statewide initiative, Dr. Eric Powers, chair of the South Carolina Mission: Lifeline (SC M:L) Leadership Team, has worked tirelessly to create a safer South Carolina for our patients. Dr. Powers is proud to accept the Caregiver Award on behalf of the entire team of dedicated SC M:L caregivers across our state.

Healthcare Executive or Manager Award

Shawn Stinson, MD, Vice President of Clinical Quality and Patient Safety, Palmetto Health

Dr. Shawn Stinson currently serves as Vice President of Clinical Quality and Patient Safety at Palmetto Health while actively serving the health care community on many health care committees and boards. Dr. Stinson’s strong leadership is guiding health care in South Carolina into a new era of quality and patient safety. He has led an effort to implement computer provider order entry, an initiative to reduce medication errors across the Palmetto Health system. When Palmetto Health corporate leadership and hospital staff learned of the overall mortality rate for their patients, Dr. Stinson, in collaboration with other Palmetto Health leaders, set a daring goal to cut mortality rates by 20 percent within three years. They accomplished this goal within 18 months. Dr. Stinson’s leadership, dedication and drive to improve patient safety for all patients is invaluable as we work to continuously improve quality of care and patient safety in South Carolina.

Advocate Award

Teresa Arnold, Director of Governmental Affairs, AARP

Teresa Arnold has worked on many issues designed to improve the health care and well-being of South Carolina’s patient population. She fought a successful multi-year battle to secure and maintain funding for home and community-based services for South Carolina seniors and disabled citizens. She was closely involved in advocating for passage of the Health Insurance Reform law as well as conducting outreach to community groups about the positive impact of the reform law. One of Teresa's most significant contributions to patient safety has been her support of the Healthcare Infection Disclosure Act (HIDA) and her active service on the statewide HIDA and South Carolina Healthcare Alliance for Infection Prevention (SCHAIP) committees. Teresa's life and career reflect her dedication to helping those in need. She is also a foster parent, an adoptive parent and a volunteer house parent at an emergency shelter for abused and neglected children. She was previously recognized for her service to adult day care centers in 2006, and in 2007 was voted Social Worker of the Year by the National Association of Social Workers.

Lewis W. Blackman Student Champion of Patient Safety

Ross Hilliard

The first Lewis Blackman Student Champion of Patient Safety recipient, Ross Hilliard, is a fourth-year medical student at the University of South Carolina. Ross is a shining example of the new breed of student the Student Champion Award is intended to recognize and encourage. He was a leader in the 2008 initiation of the University of South Carolina chapter of the IHI Open School for Health Professions, an interprofessional educational community created to give students the skills to become change agents in health care improvement. As president of the USC IHI Open School chapter, Ross has helped bring together many students from different health care professions in an environment of learning focused on interdisciplinary teamwork and patient-centered care. Ross has worked with USC faculty to develop a patient safety curriculum that will become part of the required medical school program in the fall of 2011. He has been honored by IHI for his work with IHI Open School, by numerous honorary societies for his academic performance and has been asked to serve on the SCHA Quality Advisory Council because of his leadership in the student health care community. Congratulations to Ross Hilliard, a young leader committed to improving quality and patient safety.

05-24-2011 11:11 (EDT)