Lewis Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards

Celebrating and Supporting the Innovators

Lewis Blackman was a bright, talented fifteen year-old South Carolina boy who died from a tragic preventable medical error. In 2008, the Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards program was created in his name to celebrate the caregivers, leaders, researchers, advocates and students who have made health care better and safer for South Carolina patients. Lewis’s mother Helen Haskell, now a nationally known patient advocate and founder of Mothers Against Medical Error, joins SCHA, BlueCross BlueShield of SC, Health Sciences SC, and PHTS Services, Ltd. each year to give out the awards at the annual South Carolina Transforming Health Symposium.

Recent award winners include:

  • A doctor who designed a pioneering program that has allowed hundreds of elderly patients with hip fractures to return to independent living
  • An executive leader who over 23 years built a culture of safety and satisfaction for patients and for staff 
  • A young physician who developed a caregiver communication training program that will help prevent medical errors, and another who reduced a complication many children were suffering from in the intensive care unit by 58%.
  • The mother of a child once treated for a catastrophic injury who now spends her days improving patient-provider understanding and empathy 
  • A soon-to-be bilingual Clemson University nursing student who is passionate about encouraging empowered, transparent communication within hospitals

Click here to view a list of all the Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion awardees since 2008.

Click here to nominate somebody for the 2018 awards.

The Duke Endowment Logo

This work is made possible by the generosity of The Duke Endowment. South Carolina’s hospitals are grateful for the vision of James B. Duke, who established The Duke Endowment in December of 1924. For more information on the legacy of Mr. Duke and the work of The Duke Endowment, visit www.dukeendowment.org.